Skip to main content
Signed
Ghost Book (Personalized)

Ghost Book (Personalized)

Current price: $14.99
Publication Date: August 15th, 2023
Publisher:
Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks
ISBN:
9781250810434
Pages:
320

This Chinese folklore-inspired story of friendship and visibility left me craving a sequel and enchanted dumplings. Remy Lai writes to kids on their level with a beautiful message of how to sacrifice for others without losing yourself.

Maura Juenger, Joseph-Beth Booksellers, Cincinnati, OH
September/October 2023 Kids Indie Next List

Description

PLEASE READ BEFORE PURCHASING:

1. You will write the name, and/or message, you would like for the book in the INSCRIPTION box.

2. FOR SCHOOL ORDERS: When you checkout you must put the CHILD'S FULL NAME, and school in the ADDITIONAL INFORMATION box under CUSTOMER COMMENTS. If this is filled out, your child will receive their book at the time of the school visit.

About the Author

Remy Lai studied fine arts, with a major in painting and drawing. She was born in Indonesia, grew up in Singapore, and currently lives in Brisbane, Australia, where she writes and draws stories for kids with her two dogs by her side. She is the author of the critically-acclaimed Pie in the Sky, Fly on the Wall, and Pawcasso.

Praise for Ghost Book (Personalized)

An Indie Bestseller!
An Indie Next List Pick!
A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
An Amazon, School Library Journal, and Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year
A Little Maverick Graphic Novel Reading List Pick

"Absolutely gorgeous and a completely unique adventure. Remy Lai is a master storyteller!" —Christina Soontornvat, two-time Newbery Honor Winner

"Spooky, spellbinding and full of heart!" —Kayla Miller, bestselling author of Click

"A deliciously spooky, funny adventure. I adored this story of friendship, loss, love, and dumplings! July Chen is a kid I would gladly follow to the Underworld and back." —Jessica Townsend, bestselling author of The Nevermoor series

"Lai finds that razor’s edge between life and death, light and dark, fairy tale and ghost story." —The New York Times

* "An entertaining, engaging read with echoes of Miyazaki's film Spirited Away." —Horn Book, starred review

* "Lai navigates profound questions of fate and friendship via Chinese mythology in this playful graphic novel ghost story [with a] richly imagined underworld." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Lai is a master of middle-grade sensibilities . . . An unforgettable adventure full of surprises, laughs, ghosts, and dumplings." —Booklist, starred review

* For kids who eat up graphic novels like Anya’s Ghost, Pilu of the Woods, and Ghosts, Ghost Book will make a perfect addition to their shelves." —BookPage, starred review

* "Ghost Book expertly balances eerie ghoulishness with lighthearted fun for a memorable middle-grade adventure." —Shelf Awareness, starred review

"Fans of Disney’s Coco and Studio Ghibli’s Spirited Away will find this graphic novel filled with humor and love, with unforgettable characters and unbreakable friendships." —BCCB

"A delightful balance of spooky, sweet, and funny." —Kirkus

Praise for Pawcasso

An ALA Best Graphic Novel for Children * Booklist Editors' Choice Winner * NYPL Best Book of the Year * CPL Best Book of the Year * TLA 2022 Little Maverick Pick

"A skillfully woven story of acceptance and forgiveness." —New York Times Book Review

"It's tail-wagging entertaining!" —Kelly Yang, New York Times bestselling author of Front Desk

* "Brightly colored, inviting artwork." —Booklist, starred review

"Move over, Jeff Kinney . . . Lai’s finger is always precisely on the pulse of kid humor." —Horn Book

Praise for Fly on the Wall

A Best Book of the Year for Kirkus, Booklist, CPL, and SLJl!

“Funny, enthralling, and a great reminder that being a little odd isn’t a bad thing.” —Kayla Miller, author of Click and Camp

"Bright, funny storytelling." —The New York Times Book Review

* "Henry’s character development in this illustrated novel leaves Greg Heffley in the dust." —School Library Journal, starred review

Praise for Pie in the Sky

Winner of the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor! A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year! A NYPL Best Book of the Year! An NPR Best Book of the Year! A Horn Book Best Book of the Year!

"
Heartwarming and rib-tickling." —Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

* “Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson.” —Shelf Awareness, starred review