Skip to main content

Graphic Novel Event with Special Guest: Remy Lai

Ready to share your favorite Ghost Stories? Ready to learn some fun drawing techniques? But are you really ready, and excited to meet Remy Lai?

Join us September 15 at 6pm for a fun, spooky time with Graphic Novel Legend, Remy Lai to celebrate her new book, GHOST BOOK!

Pre-Order the book here: https://shop.secondstartotheri...

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Perfect for fans of Spirited AwayCoco, and Ghosts comes a contemporary fantasy graphic novel about a girl who can see ghosts and befriends a boy who is stuck between the worlds of the living and the dead—an instant classic from the award-winning creator of Pie in the Sky

Twelve years ago, the boy and the girl lived. But one was supposed to die.

July Chen sees ghosts. But her dad insists ghosts aren’t real. So she pretends they don’t exist. Which is incredibly difficult now as it's Hungry Ghost month, when the Gates of the Underworld open and dangerous ghosts run amok in the living world. When July saves a boy ghost from being devoured by a Hungry Ghost, he becomes her first ever friend. Except William is not a ghost. He’s a wandering soul wavering between life and death. As the new friends embark on an adventure to return William to his body, they unearth a ghastly truth—for William to live, July must die.

Inspired by Chinese mythology, this dark yet resoundingly hopeful tale about friendship, sacrifice, and the unseen world of ghosts is a dazzling heir to beloved Studio Ghibli classics.

"Absolutely gorgeous and a completely unique adventure. Remy Lai is a master storyteller!" —Christina Soontornvat, two-time Newbery Honor Winner

"Spooky, spellbinding and full of heart!" ―Kayla Miller, bestselling author of Click

"A deliciously spooky, funny adventure." ―Jessica Townsend, bestselling author of The Nevermoor series

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Remy Lai absolutely does NOT recommend truancy, but when she was in high school, she sometimes skipped school with her friends to watch horror movies in theaters that were eerily empty (because um . . . everyone else was at school). She lives in Australia with her two dogs, who sometimes freak her out by barking at nothing in the corners of rooms. She is also the author of the critically acclaimed Pie in the SkyFly on the WallPawcasso, and the Surviving the Wild series. Follow Remy on Instagram @rrremylai.

Date: 09/15/2023
Time: 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Place:
Second Star to the Right
1455 S Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210-2634