Jean Reidy Books

What Would You Do in a Book About You?

Do you want to be an astronaut, a zookeeper, a doctor? All you have to do is dream. What Would You Do in a Book About You? will empower kids to reach for their dreams, no matter how big or small. Perfect for graduation or any milestone in a child’s or adult’s life, this book celebrates everything you are capable of doing and everything that you can possibly be. For after all, the best stories are the ones that you will write . . .

What would you do in a book about you?

You might create something

that changes a mind—

or makes a heart stir.

You might simply be kind.

From Zolotow Honor award-winning author Jean Reidy, and illustrated by Joey Chou, What Would You Do in a Book About You? asks what wonderful, endless possibilities your future could hold, making every child the author of their own powerful tale, all with a pitch-perfect rhythm and rhyme. No dream is too big or too small in this heartwarming, heart-building book about you!

 

 

When the Snow Is Deeper Than My Boots Are Tall 

A charming rhyming picture book celebrating the fun of snow and the coziness of winter.

Find a frosty window./ Watch the flakes fall./ Look! The snow is deeper than my toes are tall.
With young, rhyming verse, Jean Reidy captures the joy and excitement of a big snowfall. As the snow climbs over a girl's toes, ankles, shins, and boots, there's more and more fun to be had—snowmen, sledding, snow angels, and, finally, a cup of hot cocoa by a warm fire.

 

 

Truman

After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day of school, a tortoise named Truman goes on an adventure across the living room and learns to be brave in this thoughtful and heartwarming twist on a first experience story.
Truman the tortoise lives with his Sarah, high above the taxis and the trash trucks and the number eleven bus, which travels south. He never worries about the world below…until one day, when Sarah straps on a big backpack and does something Truman has never seen before. She boards the bus!
Truman waits for her to return.
He waits.
And waits.
And waits.
And when he can wait no longer, he knows what he must do.
Even if it seems…impossible!

 

 

Pup 681 : A Sea Otter Rescue Story

Inspired by the true story of orphaned sea otter Pup 681 (Luna of the Shedd Aquarium in Chicago), this is a sweet picture book celebrating animal rescue, family, and love.

Washed ashore alone, a tiny sea otter pup needs help! Soon, a rescuer is there to take her in and keep her warm and fed. The pup faces challenges in her new life without her sea otter family. But with the love and care of her rescuer, she flourishes in her new home. Inspired by the true story of orphaned sea otter Pup 681, who is now named Luna and lives at the Shedd Aquarium in Chicago, this is a heartwarming and hopeful rescue story about family and love.

 

 

Busy Builders, Busy Week!

Learn the days of the week in this fun, colorful book about construction--perfect for fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site.

From the author-illustrator team who brought us All Through My Town comes a bright, bold picture book in which a cast of animal characters are building a brand-new playground in a local park for their community. Each day of the week contains a different construction plan as the steam-rolling, digging, and planting gets underway.
Tuesday! Mix day!
Pipe and boards and bricks day.
Stack, spin, pour it in.
Give the fence a fix day.
The construction project comes together for a joyful, rhyming walking tour of a neighborhood, where young readers learn the days of the week while watching everyone work as a team!

 

 

All Through My Town (Board Book)

Rising, waking
Bread is baking
School bus honks its horn

Who are the people in your neighborhood? Perfect for the pre-K set, this adorable rhyming text takes a walking tour of one little critter's community.
The fresh modern art of Leo Timmers features hidden details and a perennial theme reminiscent of Richard Scarry. Little ones will beg to re-read again as they discover the characters who repeat throughout the art in this sweet and vibrant story.

Jean Reidy Books

$16.99Price
Book Titles
  • Orders can be shipped directly to your home by choosing shipping at checkout, or select pickup curbside/in store to pick up at Second Star. All curbside pickup orders will be held at the store until one week after Jean's visit, at which time they will be delivered to the school.

SSTR Logo Tagline - Color.png

Contact a Bookseller

STORE HOURS:

Open for BROWSING 

Monday - Sunday

9am - 6pm