Remy Lai Books

Pawcasso* (FEATURED TITLE)

The award-winning creator of Pie in the Sky makes her middle-grade graphic novel debut with a heartwarming and hilarious story about the unexpected friendship between a lonely 11-year-old girl and a basket-toting dog who goes grocery shopping on his own--perfect for fans of Best Friends and Wishtree.

Every Saturday, Pawcasso trots into town with a basket, a shopping list, and cash in paw to buy groceries for his family. One day, he passes eleven-year-old Jo, peering out the window of her house, bored and lonely. Astonished by the sight of an adorable basket-toting dog on his own, Jo follows Pawcasso, and when she’s seen alongside him by a group of kids from her school, they mistake her for Pawcasso’s owner.

*Due to shipping delays all orders for PAWCASSO will be fulfilled after the new publication date of Tuesday, May 25th, 2021.

Excited to make new friends, Jo reluctantly hides the truth and agrees to let "her" dog model for an art class the kids attend. What could go wrong? But what starts as a Chihuahua-sized lie quickly grows Great Dane-sized when animal control receives complaints about a dog roaming the streets off-leash. With Pawcasso’s freedom at stake, is Jo willing to spill the truth and risk her new friendships?

 

 

Pie in the Sky

A poignant illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks!

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he’s landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn’t speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

In her hilarious, emotional middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Real Friends.

 

 

Fly on the Wall

In this hilarious middle-grade graphic novel/prose hybrid for fans of Jerry Craft, Terri Libenson, and Shannon Hale, an overprotected boy embarks on a (forbidden) adventure to prove his independence--from the critically-acclaimed creator of Pie in the Sky.

Henry Khoo's family treats him like a baby. He’s forbidden from going anywhere without his sister/bodyguard. His (former) best friend knows to expect his mom's mafia-style interrogation when Henry’s allowed to hang out at her house. And he definitely CAN’T take an international flight by himself!

But that’s exactly Henry's plan. After the Khoos’ trip to visit his dad in Singapore is canceled, Henry decides he doesn’t want to be cooped up with his family and BFF turned NRFF (Not Really Friend Forever). Plus, he’s hiding a HUGE secret: He’s the creator of an anonymous gossip cartoon, and he's on the verge of getting caught. Determined to prove his independence, Henry embarks on the greatest adventure everrr . . . hoping it won’t turn into the greatest disaster ever.

Remy Lai Books

$21.99Price
Book Titles
    SSTR Logo Tagline - Color.png

    Contact a Bookseller

    STORE HOURS:

    Open for BROWSING 

    Monday - Sunday

    9am - 6pm