WRBG-CC-Header.jpg
WRBG Book.jpg

Mission

While the Well-Read Black Girl Book Club is focused on empowering Black women writers, we encourage readers who identify as genderqueer, non-binary, or others who feel inspired by what we’re doing to join us and be a part of our community. 

The goal of #WRBGBookClub is simple yet profound: “Our mission is to support diverse voices and emerging writers of color, one book club meeting at a time. Our literary community is inclusive, we strive to inspire connections between bookstores, readers, and authors”-  #wellreadblackgirl

Punching.jpeg

Click on cover to order online!

Punching the Air

by Ibi Zoboi & Yusek Salaam

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five, comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo.

The story that I thought

was my life

didn’t start on the day

I was born

Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, he’s seen as disruptive and unmotivated by a biased system. Then one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. “Boys just being boys” turns out to be true only when those boys are white.

The story that I think

will be my life

starts today

Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal’s bright future is upended: he is convicted of a crime he didn’t commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it?

With spellbinding lyricism, award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam tell a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth, in a system designed to strip him of both.

at 6:30pm

Our next meet-up:

WRBG-Calendar-Date.jpg

MeetMontgomery :

As a proud book nerd, I am ecstatic that Second Star to the Right Books has the first Well Read Black Girl chapter in Colorado. At university, I decided to further my love of reading by majoring in children's literature, with a focus on diversity (or lack thereof) in what is being published. We are doing better, but have a long way to go. My belief in life is every that child (and adult) is capable of not only reading a book, but being a reader. We all just need that one book that speaks to us. That's why I think Well Read Black Girl is so important, we can read books that accurately reflect parts of our lives with people who share similar backgrounds, while also reveling in our differences. I also love reading and learning about other marginalized groups and reflecting on how to be a better overall ally. I'm so honored to lead this group and can't wait to sneak a few young adult and middle grades in to our selections while we are it!

RSVP to an upcoming meeting above and check out our community guidelines:

Montgomery's

Picks

Updates

MEET-UP'S

& MORE

Be the first to know about the happenings with the WRBG.

Sign up to receive more information about meet-ups and other events.

Follow WRBG on Facebook
WRBG-Facebook.png
SEND ME MORE INFO!

Thanks for submitting!

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.